Girls with Balls

Developed in association with Curve Theatre, Leicester



by Ann Richards
directed by Gary Phillpott

Football is a game of two sexes.

It’s 2016, the wrecking ball is approaching and Ashley, Britney and Heather must face up to the destruction of their beloved football ground. As the demolition company moves in, the girls stage a last-ditch protest to save their club and fight for what they believe in.

This new play is inspired by real-life events from 1921 when the Football Association banned women from playing at affiliated grounds. After fifty years of hurt, the ban was finally lifted in 1971.

Tackling football and feminism head on, Girls with Balls takes a bold look at women, men and the beautiful game.

This play for 4 actors is set to tour the UK during 2016, see tour dates opposite.

Age guidance: 16+ (contains some adult language and scenes of a sexual nature)

(Images by Sean Goldthorpe)


"The acting within the play was very convincing and emotional. Each girl - Ashley, Britney and Heather - all seemed to come to life on stage.
Their pure grit and determination radiated out of them on stage. The girls were also instantly likeable and you wanted them to succeed with their mission." - See the full review

Cumbria Live


Tour Dates

Tue 12th Apr
Theatre by the Lake, Keswick
Wed 13th Apr
Theatre by the Lake, Keswick
Thu 21st Apr
Rotherham Civic, Rotherham
Fri 22nd Apr
Barnsley Lamproom, Barnsley
Sat 23rd Apr
Barnsley Lamproom, Barnsley
Thu 28th Apr
The Broadway, Barking
Fri 29th Apr
Rialto, Brighton
Sat 30th Apr
Rialto, Brighton
Wed 4th May
Mumford Theatre, Cambridge
Thu 5th May
Curve Theatre, Leicester
Fri 6th May
The Cut, Halesworth
Sat 7th May
St George's Theatre, Great Yarmouth
Tue 10th May
Lincoln Drill Hall, Lincoln
Wed 11th May
Fruitspace, Hull
Thu 12th May
Pavilion Arts Centre, Buxton
Fri 20th May
Fisher Theatre, Bungay
Wed 25th May
The Haymarket, Basingstoke
Thu 26th May
White Rock Theatre, Hastings